EOSHL welcomes three new teams, Deseronto Bulldogs announce inaugural season award winners

Adam Prudhomme

The Deseronto Bulldogs will face-off against three new opponents this fall when the Junior A Eastern Ontario Senior Hockey League returns for its second year.

Joining the league as expansion teams will be the Glengarry Pipers, Frontenac Phantoms and Smith Falls Rideaus. All four of the founding teams-Deseronto, Cornwall, West Carleton and Maxville are set to return, bringing the league total to seven teams. One small change among the founding clubs is Maxville, which played under the nickname Millionaire last year, will now be known as the Mustangs.

The league is open to all players who have aged out of traditional junior hockey, with no age limit restrictions. The Bulldogs lineup featured several players who had previously suited up for the Junior C Napanee Raiders, Deseronto Storm or Amherstview Jets.

The Bulldogs are coming off an inaugural year that saw them go 5-12-0-1, finishing third. In the playoffs they took the Cornwall Prowlers to the limit in the best-of-three series before losing Game 3. The Prowlers went on to top the West Carleton Rivermen in five games to claim the first league title.

With their year-end banquet cancelled due to COVID-19, the Bulldogs opted to hand out their year-end team awards virtually last month. Taking home the MVP award was Kyle Wetering, who finished with 19 points in 12 regular season games followed by eight points in the team’s three playoff games.

Joey Mayer was the Bulldogs’ point leader, picking up 32 while playing in all 18 games. He added six more points in the three game playoff series. He would go on to make his pro-league debut following the EOSHL season when he was called up to the Bulldogs’ FPHL affiliate Watertown Wolves.

Graeme Gemmill was the team’s goaltender of the year award winner, finishing with a 5-4-1 record with an .881 save percentage, second in the league, just back of the top mark of .888.

Brandon Gilmour was the team’s top forward while Will Lamoureux and Chris Rogalsky shared the top defenceman award.

Cullen Hinds was the team’s top playoff performer, scoring seven goals with three assists.

Mitch Merry was given the team’s leadership award while goalie Kira Hurley was voted as the team’s most dedicated player.

Mike Thompson was named the coach’s choice for his commitment to the team for making big hits and blocks while chipping in offensively.

Jordan Cannons was named the EOSHL’s most sportsmanlike player.

The Bulldogs have also added to their coaching and scouting staff in the offseason, announcing Tyler Brooks as an assistant/goaltending coach while adding Reg McColl, Matt Mead and Allan Etmanski as regional scouts.

There’s been no word yet on when the 2020/21 season will get underway. Last year’s season began in late September.

error: Content is protected !!