NDCC wraps up 60th season with Martin & Walters Bonspiel

Sandy Eastlake
On the Button

The closing Martin & Walters had 16 teams divided up into two draws. Unfortunately a problem with the plant did not allow for the second game, but as curlers do – they made up for it with cards, an early turkey/ham toss and pot luck dinner. Dave Travers and Steve Eastlake ran the annual turkey/ham toss with funds going to the juniors and raised $204 for the junior kitty. Jann Lees won the turkey and donated back his proceeds, Linda Perry won the ham and also donated her half plus other donations from not so adventurous curlers.

The winner of the Martin & Walter trophy was the team of Don Pearson, Jane Pearson, Steven Moore and Al Thompson and the winner of the Button High Lynn Crossman trophy was the team of Debbie Currier, Cathy Howard, Glenn Howard and Don Currier. The ‘Most Honest Curling Team’ this season was the Moffatt rink. All in all a great fun day at the club. Congratulations to all our final draw winners.

The Monday Men’s Club Champion was the team of Jim Stapley, Kevin MacLean, Stephen Paul and Darrell Pritchard/Pam Jordan besting Mark Dunham, Paul McDonald, Steve Kapusta and Austin Dunham. Stapley and team are off to the Traveller’s Nationals next fall. Wednesday Men’s Seniors had Bill Hogg, Barry Brummel, Don Kerr and George Munday winning with Brian Chadwick, Bill Creighton, Bill Ryan and Jack Scott coming second. The Thursday Mens winner was Ian Munro, Paul McDonald, Don Pearson and Ken Booker with runner up Kirk Donald, Allan Wrigglesworth, John Dickson and Chris Jackson. The Tuesday Mixed first place went to Jane Hough, Robert Hough, Bill Humes and Jane Pearson and Bob StJohn, Deb Kowalik, Ed Kurc and Frank Lion coming second. Friday Mixed showed Doug Pennell, Don Kerr, Brenda Kerr and Sheila Pennell winning with Linda Blake, Sherrill Bentley, Sheryl Martin and Gary Hartin as a close second. The Up & At’Em winner was the team of Benita Murphy, Ted Kennedy, Tim Grew and Gena Hayes with runner up Sandy Eastlake, Tom Ayling, Larry McNeil and Martha Downey. The Wednesday night ladies winner was Janie Ryan, Bethany Lessard, Linda Perry and Deb Kowalik with Pam Jordan, Sherrill Bentley, Marlene Strang and Linda Bongard taking second place. The Thursday Ladies ended with Jane Hough, Gayle Maracle, Joelle Dickson and Barb Bradford coming first with runners-up being Chris Downey, Brenda Kerr, Penny McPherson and Marie Craigen.

The Up&At’Em three table pot luck and dessert table was as delicious as ever so a big thank you to Don and Brenda Kerr for convening this popular league. Friday night also ended with a fantastic barbecue party which was well attended thanks to Frank and Patty Lion.

NDCC board members are very pleased that the annual general meeting had 44 members in attendance and all club business was actioned in a timely manner. The board will be calling for volunteer hours over the summer months to complete the huge locker room renovations that are planned. Further information will be sent by email and posted on NDCC’s website.

Well folks, this is my last article for this season so have a great summer and see you all ‘on the ice’ in the fall. Overall it has been a terrific season both on and off the ice. In ending this column for the season, I thank The Napanee Beaver for allowing us this privilege and welcome Heather Ramshaw as the new president of the Napanee and District Curling Club.

error: Content is protected !!